Iowa Biodiesel Board
Skip to main content Main Content

Governor Branstad Honored by National Biodiesel Industry for Energy Leadership

January 17, 2017

SAN DIEGO – Governor Terry Branstad received an award today from the National Biodiesel Board for his national leadership on renewable fuels and unwavering support of the biodiesel industry. NBB acknowledges an advocate of biodiesel with the organization’s National Energy Leadership Award, which the governor accepted via a video recording at the National Biodiesel Conference & Expo in San Diego. 

 “I am truly honored to accept the National Energy Leadership Award,” he said. “I am proud that Lt. Governor [Kim] Reynolds and I have been strong advocates for biofuels, and at the national level for the Renewable Fuel Standard.”

Executive Director of the Iowa Biodiesel Board Grant Kimberley and other members of the IBB attended the conference and praised Governor Branstad’s steadfast support of biodiesel, which has helped put Iowa in the national spotlight.

 “The state of Iowa leads the way in clean energy production and is the number one biodiesel-producing state,” said Kimberley. “As he leaves office, Governor Branstad leaves behind an unmatched legacy of biofuel leadership that will last well beyond his years in service to our state. Our industry can never fully thank him for his work that will continue to keep Iowa’s economy strong today and into the future.”

Branstad is the longest serving governor in American history, and has been an active proponent of biodiesel from the start. 

More than 90 Iowans including farmers, representatives of biodiesel plants and others are attending the annual conference. Chad Gilmer, a chemistry student at the University of Iowa, is attending on a scholarship through the Next Generation Scientists for Biodiesel program. 
Biodiesel – made from a variety of resources including soybean oil, recycled cooking oil and animal fats – is the first EPA-designated Advanced Biofuel to reach commercial-scale production nationwide. 

« Back

© 2023 Iowa Biodiesel Board. All rights reserved.